Home       About       Leadership       Member Services       Contact Us 



Phoenix Metropolitan Alumnae Chapter


​* Deceased Sorors

 Cleo Moorehead*

Mable Murrell*

Eleanor Ragsdale*

Odessa Reed*

Wilma R. Rose*

Inez Rosser*

Arlena Seneca*

Arnette Ward

Evelyn Warren*

Oliva  Wormley*

Mildred Bennett*

Mary Butler

Jerrye Champion

Lois Coles

Karen Conway

Linda Craig*

Lois S. Daniels

Mavis Edwards

Irma Gooch*

Georgie Goode*


Phoenix metropolitan alumnae



     (First Row) Winona Cargile Alexander, Madree Penn White, Wertie Blackwell Weaver, Vashti Turley Murphy, Ethel Cuff Black, Frederica Chase Dodd  

    (Second Row)  Osceola Macarthy Adams, Pauline Oberdorfer Minor, Edna Brown Coleman, Edith Mott Young, Marguerite Young Alexander, Naomi Sewell Richardson, Eliza P. Shippen 

     (Third Row)   Zephyr Chisom Carter, Myra Davis Hemmings, Mamie Reddy Rose, Bertha Pitts Campbell, Florence Letcher Toms, Olive Jones, Jessie McGuire Dent, Jimmie Bugg Middleton, Ethel Carr Watson

     The original artwork is a life sized painting on canvas created by artist Tarleton Blackwell, and hangs in the National Headquarters Office in Washington, D.C.

delta sigma theta sorority inc.


 On May 22, 1937, Delta Sigma Theta Sorority Inc. chartered the Beta Theta Chapter, a collegiate, citywide chapter in Phoenix AZ.  The chapter was eventually dissolved with the formation of The Phoenix Metropolitan Alumnae Chapter on May 11, 1972.    
​ On May 12, 1972, the Phoenix Metropolitan Alumnae Chapter established the Iota Kappa Chapter, which continues to exist on the campus of Arizona State University. The Phoenix Metropolitan Alumnae Chapter has many members, and continues to grow.  The Public service activities and events facilitated by its members provide opportunities for people of diverse backgrounds to share common experiences.  The talent, professionalism and networking techniques of this chapter continue to make it one of the most well respected organizations in the Valley of the Sun.
2012 – 2016 Rhoshawndra Carnes
​2010 – 2012 Traci Williams
2008 – 2010 Jennifer Francis
2006 – 2008 Sabrina Pope
2004 – 2006 Dawn Strobert
2002 – 2004 Racquel Robinson
1998 – 2002 Theressa Jackson
1996 – 1998 Jeanne Jones
1992 – 1996 Delores “Dee” Brinkley
​1990 – 1992 Toni Bland
1988 – 1990 Carolyn Bristo
1986 – 1988 Jacqueline Haynes
1984 – 1986 Marilyn Sanders
1982 – 1984 Lucy Corner
1980 – 1982 Eleanor Ragsdale
1972 – 1976 Jerrye Champion
1972 – 1972 Bettye Kellum



Mary Greenfield*

Beatrice Grevenberg*

Evelyn Hardiman

Kathleen Jordan*

Bettye Kellum

Irene McClellan King*

Alma Martin*

Wanda Matthews*

V'Esser McDonald*

Thomasine Miller

     Delta Sigma Theta Sorority Inc.  was founded on January 13, 1913 by twenty-two collegiate women at Howard University. These students wanted to use their collective strength to promote academic excellence and to provide assistance to persons in need. The first public act performed by the Delta Founders involved their participation in the Women's Suffrage March in Washington D.C., March 1913. Delta Sigma Theta was incorporated in 1930.         

     Our National Headquarters is  located at 1703-1709 New Hampshire Avenue, N.W. Washington, D.C..   Delta Sigma Theta Sorority Inc.  was the first African-American organization to purchase property for its headquarters operation.  To learn more about Delta Sigma Theta Sorority Inc., please visit our National Website at www.deltasigmatheta.org.