Phoenix Metropolitan Alumnae Chapter

On May 22, 1937, Delta Sigma Theta Sorority Inc. chartered the Beta Theta Chapter, a collegiate, citywide chapter in Phoenix AZ.  The chapter was eventually dissolved with the formation of The Phoenix Metropolitan Alumnae Chapter on May 11, 1972.

On May 12, 1972, the Phoenix Metropolitan Alumnae Chapter established the Iota Kappa Chapter, which continues to exist on the campus of Arizona State University.

 The Phoenix Metropolitan Alumnae Chapter has many members, and continues to grow.  The Public service activities and events facilitated by its members provide opportunities for people of diverse backgrounds to share common experiences.  The talent, professionalism and networking techniques of this chapter continue to make it one of the most well respected organizations in the Valley of the Sun.

Charter Members

Mildred Bennett*
Mary Butler
Jerrye Champion
Lois Coles
Karen Conway Easley
Linda Craig*
Lois S. Daniels*
Mavis Edwards
Irma Gooch*
Georgie Goode*

Mary Greenfield*
Beatrice Grevenberg*
Evelyn Hardiman
Kathleen Jordan*
Bettie J. Kellum
Irene McClellan King*
Alma Martin*
Wanda Matthews*
V’Esser McDonald*
Thomasine Miller*

*Deceased Members

Cleo Moorehead*
Mable Murrell*
Eleanor Ragsdale*
Odessa Reed*
Wilma R. Rose*
Inez Rosser*
Arlena Seneca*
Arnette Ward
Evelyn Warren*
Oliva  Wormley*

Past Chapter Presidents

2016 – 2018 
2010 2012
2008 2010 
2006 2008
2004 2006 
2002 2004 
1998 2002 
1996 1998
1992 1996 
1990 1992
1988 1990
1986 1988
1984 1986
1982 1984
1980 1982 
1972 1976 
1972 1972

Sandra L. Nicholson
Rhoshawndra L. Carnes
Traci Williams
Jennifer Francis
Sabrina Pope
Dawn Strobert
Racquel Robinson
Theressa Jackson
Jeanne Jones
Delores “Dee” Brinkley
Toni Bland
Carolyn Bristo
Jacqueline Haynes
Wlmilyn Sanders
Lucy Corner
Eleanor Ragsdale
Jerrye Champion
Bettye Kellum